Berkley Turns 1!

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve blogged.  I have missed it so I plan to do my best to post more often.  In the time that has passed since I last blogged, our little girl went and turned a year old on us.  How in the world did that happen?!!  The crazy “everything has to look amazing and perfect” part of me came out in planning her birthday party. This can probably be attributed to the fact that I read too many blogs of women who seem to be able to “do it all” and make it look so easy.  I drew inspiration from photos I found online.  I loved the idea of balloons tied to a painted, antique highchair.  So my mom found an awesome steal at a local antique shop and we put what seemed like 10 coats of paint on it.  I spent an entire afternoon trying to find someone who would air up latex balloons and finally succeeded when I went to Party America. You can see the chair here, on the far left:

My bff Nollee helped me so much.  Since it was so hard to get anything done with my demanding baby girl always wrapped around my legs, I kind of dropped the ball on the decorations.  So 2 days before the big day, we stayed up past midnight making decorations.  I made this cute number 1 just by using cardboard, hot glue and coffee filters.


My mom gave me a bunch of Mason jars and we used chalkboard paint on them so people could write their names on their glasses.  And when I say we, I mean Nollee. :)

Several weeks earlier, we had also made these paper medallions out of scrapbook paper by following a tutorial that Nollee found.


My mom came down the night before to help me with things, along with my aunt and 3 cousins.  The next morning, although I had gotten an early start, proved to be stressful.  Berkley had not been feeling good and I took her to the doctor the day before.  They said it was just a cold and it would pass and to just continue with our plans.  I planned on making the big cake for everyone, but it ended up being a total flop.  So the first thing I did that morning was go cake shopping.  Oddly enough, I had the hardest time finding a plain, undecorated cake.  But I got as close to it as possible and came back home and added the handmade decorations to the cake.

I couldn’t wait for Nollee to get there because she is so much more organized than I am and thinks of things I always forget.  She’s also pretty good at cheering up miss Berkley.

It was so insanely hot that day and I slowly began to realize that things weren’t going to go as I had envisioned. In addition to my husband extinguishing a huge grease fire, there was the fact that  my daughter clearly was not feeling well and needed a nap so bad.  Even though people were ready for her to open presents and get the festivities going, I told my aunt Beckey she had my permission to rock her to sleep. To keep the guests entertained, I played a video I had created for her big day.

By the time she woke up, only a few close family members and friends were left to see her open her gifts.  I felt bad that people who traveled so far missed out on seeing her, but I was even more disappointed that she was ill. We would find out  the next day that she actually had an ear infection (the third one of her life thus far). She was a good sport though, as always.

I had pictured her sitting in our backyard in the antique highchair I painted with the cute balloons tied to it while she ate her “made-by-mom” carrot cake and tasted ice cream for the first time. The balloons had deflated from the 105+ degree weather so we brought the festivities into the air conditioned dining room instead.  She seemed to enjoy the ice cream more than the cake.

We finished off the day by taking a swim in the pool to cool off (and to wash off the sticky cake and ice cream :).


Things did not go as I had planned and that’s okay.  I have a sign hanging in my house that says “the best things in life are not things.” It is so true and I have to remind myself of that sometimes.  We are so lucky to be Berkley’s parents.  She is everything to us. Happy first birthday Berkley Mae.

One thought on “Berkley Turns 1!

Leave a Comment

