Days in the Park

I am quite behind on my blogging but I thought I’d share a few photos of some days we spent at the park.  Days in between being sick, that is.

In the past month, I’ve had the stomach flu and a really bad head cold and fever.  Then my husband got the head cold too.  We thought our daughter was in the clear until she woke up with a fever one morning – a fever that wouldn’t go away. We took her to the doctor to find out she had her first ear infection.  Not long after starting her antibiotics, she was already back to her cheerful self.  Here is her daddy giving her her medicine:

It was hard to get her to take it at first, but she takes it pretty well now.

A few weeks ago, her and I packed up the stroller and went to the park.  Many times on the weekends, I end up telling myself “you better get your butt outside and enjoy this nice day with your daughter before it’s over!” And these 2 thoughts are constantly battling out inside my head:   “I need to get this and this and this done” and “I need to enjoy my baby while she’s STILL a baby.”   It’s a balancing act that I’m sure many moms struggle with.  So anyway, we took a stroll through park and as I passed through the playground part of the park, I saw several kids swinging.  I thought to myself, “I wonder if she is big enough for the baby swing.”  So when we looped back around, I took her out of her stroller and put her in a swing for the first time. I was kind of nervous and pushed her very gently.  She seemed to enjoy it but honestly, she was more fascinated with the little kids swinging next to her.

After the swing, we walked around for awhile longer enjoying the pleasant weather and watched the other kids play.

Of course it is always more fun when the whole family can join in on the fun.  On one of daddy’s night’s off, we decided to have a picnic in the park. Berkley really seemed to enjoy eating outside.  This was also one of the first days she learned to clap her hands.

She’s a bit of a daddy’s girl.

It felt so nice to sprawl out on a blanket and lay outside.

After our picnic, we took a quick walk through the park.  I say quick because this is when Randy and I both started to get sick.  Berkley really seems to enjoy the outdoors and we are looking forward to taking a camping trip sometime in May.  Until then, backyards and parks will have to do.


Leave a Comment

