Just Our Luck

Today was just like any other day. I got home from work, talked to the babysitter about their day and then took care of all of Berkley’s needs before we ventured off to do some much needed grocery shopping.  I locked up the dog and cat, put baby girl in her car seat, set the house alarm, ran downstairs because I forgot to grab a blanket and we were out the door.  I walked to the Jeep and tried to open the door and it was locked.  When I went to grab my keys to unlock it, they weren’t there.  I immediately feel my stomach knot up.  I calmly punch the code into the garage and hope that the door to the dining room is unlocked.  It isn’t.  I stand there looking at Berkley for a few minutes and go over in my head what I should do.  I realize that not only am I locked out, I also do not have my cell phone.  Luckily, we know at least four of our neighbors and honestly, what other options did I have?  I walk over to our neighbors to the west of us and knock on their door.  I hear their dogs bark, but no one answers.  So then I walk to Lois’ house.  Lois is the sweet older lady that lives to our east.  I ring her doorbell and patiently wait.  She answers – thank goodness!  I explain the situation and she tells me about a time that she did the same thing.  I use her phone to call my husband to see if he can stop by and let me in.  (While I’m dialing his number Lois is still talking my ear off :)  My husband said he’s on the other side of town, but will be there shortly to let me in.  When I go outside to meet him, he tells me he has bad news. He left his keys at the station and will have to retrieve them from there and then come back and let me in.  “No problem,” I reply and continue catching up with Lois.  Several minutes later, her phone rings and it’s my husband again.  He says to me “do you want the bad news, or the bad news?”  Oh no. Now what.  “I’ll just tell you,” he says. “I stopped by the house this afternoon to see Berkley and I left my keys in the house.  We’ll have to call a locksmith.”  So what was supposed to be a planned out, productive evening, turned out to be quite the opposite.  And to top it off, my baby was ready to go to sleep.  Finally, an hour and a half and sixty dollars later, we get back in the house.  I thank Lois for her hospitality and put my daughter to sleep.  My husband asked me “What are the odds that all of these events would happen in one day?” I tell him, “It’s just our luck.” But honestly, it could’ve been worse.  What if I had locked myself out and Berkley was inside?  What if it was freezing cold with snow on the ground outside? I tell myself this to keep things in perspective and try to stay positive. And I want this blog to be positive.  So my evening didn’t go as planned.  As a parent you learn to get used to that pretty fast and it really isn’t so bad. Sometimes unplanned mishaps make life interesting. I just prefer the mishaps that don’t cost us $60.  Oh well, tomorrow is another day :)

One thought on “Just Our Luck

Leave a Comment

