8 Months Old

Dear Berkley,

I cannot believe you are 8 months old today my sweet Berkley Mae.  Everyone tells us the time flies by fast when you have a child and boy is that the truth.  Every time I clean out your closet to weed out what you’ve outgrown, I’m filled with mixed emotions.  I am so thankful that you are healthy and your dad and I love to boast about your measurements being “off the charts.”  At the same time it makes me sad that before I know it, you will not be a baby anymore.  Sometimes I wish I could just press pause and keep you at this age forever.  You are so much fun right now and are really showing your personality.  When you smile, you smile with your whole face and people are mesmerized by it. We often get this question: “Does she ever cry?”   I love how excited you get when I get home from work. You squeal and wave your arms in the air and kick your legs.  But you certainly don’t favor one parent over the other.  One thing that became apparent soon after you were born was that daddy is a very special person to you. This is still true perhaps now more than ever. Any time he enters the room, even if you’ve spent the entire day with him, you absolutely light up with joy.  You and your father have so much fun together and I love the special bond you guys have.

Today you are 8 months old and in 4 more months you will be 1 year.  I cannot even believe it.  I look around at other moms of 1-year-olds and can’t believe how much you are going to change in that short time.  But for now,  your dad and I are going to cherish you at the age you are at.  We will smother you with kisses and tickle your feet.  We’ll bounce you on the bed until you giggle like crazy.  We’ll (your dad) will sing you songs all day long because you don’t care yet that we sing off-key.  We’ll cuddle you and rub you’re back when you aren’t feeling well.  We will read you stories as you grab the book out of our hands to chew on it.  We will take you on walks so you can explore the world and feel the wind on your chubby cheeks.  We will live in the moment and enjoy every second of being the proud parents of an 8-month-old; an absolutely perfect 8-month-old at that.

8 Month Details:

Bumbo – Barley fit in it – you’re legs are too chubby! Don’t need it anyway because you can sit on your own now.

Exersaucer – Love to play in it when you’re in the right mood

Bouncy Seat – About to outgrow it

Clothes – Hate them.  I’ve never seen a kid dislike changing their clothes as much as you do

Jolly Jumper – You still love

Favorite Animal – Poncho

Teeth – 4!

Crawling – Not yet, but ridiculously close

Weight – TBA at next appointment which is not for another month. Our guess?  20 lbs

One thought on “8 Months Old

  1. Happy 8 month Birthday Berkley, and to mom & dad too. Nothing like being a parent is there Sara. I’m so happy you have her and I know your not missing out on a single thing.

    Love ya all
    Pat

Leave a Comment

