Parenting Choices

Although I know I’m opening the door for criticism here, I thought I’d share a few very personal choices my husband and I have made since becoming parents.  I do want to say that I’m not saying any of these things are the best way, I just want to share what we do and what works for our family.

1. We use cloth diapers. The first time I ever read about cloth diapers was when I read this article.  In the beginning we did the prefold diapers with covers but that seemed to be too much work for myself, my husband and our new care provider so we now use Fuzzibunz pocket diapers.  They are so easy and save us tons of money.  We of course still use disposables occasionally when we are on the go because it’s just easier.

2. Our daughter was exclusively breastfed until she was 6 months old.  I only mention this because I seem to be among the small percentage of women who have done so. (Among infants born in 2004, the rate of exclusive breastfeeding through age 6 months was 11.3 percent.) CDC

3. We practice Baby Led Weaning.  This is such an easy way for baby to transition to solids, and our baby really seems to love it. I read the Baby Led Weaning book, but in hindsight, I would’ve rather had the Baby Led Weaning Cookbook.  It has everything the BLW book does but also has baby-friendly recipe ideas.  The original BLW book is great, don’t get me wrong, it’s just a little redundant.

4. We do part-time EC with our baby. We started when she was about 6 months.  The first time I had even heard about this practice was when I read an article about Mayim Bialik. I then read this book to get us started.

5.  I hesitate to go into this, but while I’m sharing I’ll just go ahead and say it: My daughter and I co-sleep. This was not my plan when I was pregnant, but you’ll be amazed how things can change once baby arrives (as I’m sure many mothers can attest to).  It also makes sense to co-sleep when you’re breastfeeding as noted here:

“Studies have shown that co-sleeping with a breastfeeding infant promotes bonding, regulates the mother and baby’s sleep patterns, plays a role in helping the mother to become more responsive to her baby’s cues, and gives both the mother and baby needed rest. The co-sleeping environment also assists mothers in the continuation of breastfeeding on demand, an important step in maintaining the mother’s milk supply. ” LLLI

So there it is.  A deeper look into our lives as parents.  If I had any advice for expecting parents it would be this:  Educate yourself.  Just because something is considered the “societal norm” doesn’t mean it’s always right.

Leave a Comment

